MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE **ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION** January 18, 2023

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was held on January 18, 2023 at the Village of Roselle Council Chambers. President McGowan called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Ι. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer, Amy Magnus, Steve Zurek Absent: Kim Duris

Α. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board and audience said the Pledge of Allegiance.

Β. Additions or Changes to the Agenda

Remove item III. A. Audit Report – Wipfli, LLP

С. **Communications** None.

П. Visitor Input

The following community members addressed the board and audience: None.

Ш. Superintendent Report

Superintendent Henderson reviewed the following topics with the Board:

- A. Audit Report Wipfli, LLP Removed from agenda
- B. Discuss 2023-2024 School Calendar
- C. Monthly Financial Reports

IV. Approval of Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Secretary Layer to approve the following agenda items as submitted:

- Α. Regular Meeting Minutes for December 20, 2022
- Closed Session Meeting Minutes for December 20, 2022 В.
- C. Accounts Payable for January, 2023

ROLL CALL: AYES: Steve Zurek, Tim Laver, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Amy Magnus NAYS: None **ABSTAIN: None** The motion carried.

V. Action Items

A. Personnel Report

Motion by Member Cammy and seconded by Member Zurek that the Board approve the Personnel Report as presented.

Dr. Henderson shared that Principal Girmscheid and RMS School Secretary Mary Hawkins will be retiring at the end of the school year.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, Steve Zurek, James McGowan, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer, Amy Magnus NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

B. Accept Audit Report

This item has been moved to the February Board of Education Meeting.

C. Adopt Revised Policy 6:30

Motion by Member Magnus and seconded by Member Humbert that the Board adopt the revised policy 6:30 as presented.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Amy Magnus, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VI. Board Communication and Discussion

Dr. Henderson reminded the Board that there is an IASB dinner scheduled.

VII. Social Media Post of the Month

Dr. Henderson shared Miss Thiele's twitter post showing students labeling and recognizing their emotions and using their calming corner in the classroom.

VIII. Closed Session

Motion by Member Magnus and seconded by Member Zurek to adjourn to closed session at 7:13p.m. pursuant to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(2) Collective Negotiation Matters between the public body of its employees or their representatives or deliberations regarding salary schedules for one or more of the classes of employees and 5ILCS 120/2 (c)(10) The placement of individual students in special education programs or other matters relating to individual students with no action to be taken.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Amy Magnus, Steve Zurek, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

IX. Return to Open Session

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Member Magnus that the Board return to Open Session at 9:14p.m.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Member Zurek, Amy Magnus, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

X. Approval of Intergovernmental Agreement between Roselle School District 12 and Bloomingdale District 13

Motion by Member Humbert and seconded by Member Zurek that the approve the Intergovernmental Agreement between Roselle School District 12 and Bloomingdale District 13 as presented.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Chris Humbert, Steve Zurek, Amy Magnus, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

XI. Adjournment

Motion by Member Cammy and seconded by Member Zurek to adjourn the meeting at 9:15p.m.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Blythe Cammy, Steve Zurek, James McGowan, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer, Amy Magnus NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

James McGowan, President

Timothy Layer, Secretary

Date Approved: February 21, 2023